DStv content celebrated at the 2020 Emmy Awards

DStv continues to prove its commitment to bringing the best of the world home by bringing customers the best in award-winning content.

The 72nd Primetime Emmy Awards were historic – and not just because they were held virtually for the first time ever.

Hosted by the hilarious Jimmy Kimmel, the show saw some of your DStv and Showmax favourites take home top honours on the night. Watchmen made history as the first comic-book adaptation to earn a top Emmy – Outstanding Limited Series. And at 24, Zendaya became the youngest person to ever win Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series for her role in the smash hit Euphoria.

The Eugene Levy and Catherine O’Hara comedy Schitt’s Creek, meanwhile, became the first TV show in Emmys history – comedy or drama – to sweep its night taking home seven honours.

It was definitely one for the books. Missed the show? Catch the rebroadcast tonight at 21:30 on M-Net (DStv 101).

Winners circle

Shows available on DStv were nominated for more than 120 Emmy Awards going into this year’s ceremony, picking up some of the biggest awards on the night.

Watchmen, which aired in 2019 on M-Net (DStv 101) and is currently available to binge from the beginning on Showmax, led the charge for Africa’s leading pay-TV provider with its 11 wins - the most awards won on the night. Mark Ruffalo was named Outstanding Lead Actor in a Limited Series or Movie for I Know This Much is True, while Uzo Aduba took home the Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Limited Series or Movie award for her role in Mrs America, currently screening on M-Net (DStv 101).

Shows from across the DStv universe were recognised, with first-to-Showmax series Succession and Euphoria picking up 7 and 3 awards respectively. Remember to add Showmax to your DStv bill to enjoy these and more award-winning shows at a discounted price (T&Cs apply).

Prolific actor, writer, producer, director, performer and philanthropist Tyler Perry was honoured with the Governors Award for his many contributions to the television industry and communities in need. Watch him in A Madea Christmas and Boo! A Madea Halloween on Catch Up.

As a platform committed to telling the very best local and international stories, DStv celebrates the recognition of the content it delivers. In fact, it’s proof that we are indeed bringing the best of the world home – to you and for you, our loyal customers.

Says CEO of General Entertainment & Connected Video at MultiChoice Group, Yolisa Phahle: “We’ve invested heavily in bringing our customers the best possible international shows to sit alongside the outstanding local productions available across our platforms, and we are incredibly proud to see so many of these shows recognised with critical acclaim that matches the love shown for them by our viewers.”

Looking ahead, DStv has secured even more amazing content for 2020 and into 2021, Yolisa adds. “We are confident that our customers will have no shortage of award-winning shows this year, and beyond!” she says.

Here is the full list of winners, and where you can find them on DStv and Showmax:

Outstanding Drama Series

Outstanding Comedy Series

Outstanding Limited Series

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series

  • Catherine O'Hara, Schitt's Creek - WINNER
  • Christina Applegate, Dead to Me
  • Rachel Brosnahan, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
  • Linda Cardellini, Dead to Me
  • Issa Rae, Insecure
  • Tracee Ellis Ross, Black-ish

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series

  • Eugene Levy, Schitt's Creek - WINNER
  • Anthony Anderson, Black-ish
  • Don Cheadle, Black Monday
  • Ted Danson, The Good Place
  • Michael Douglas, The Kominsky Method
  • Ramy Youssef, Ramy

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series

  • Zendaya, Euphoria - WINNER
  • Jennifer Aniston, The Morning Show
  • Olivia Colman, The Crown
  • Jodie Comer, Killing Eve
  • Laura Linney, Ozark
  • Sandra Oh, Killing Eve

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series

  • Jeremy Strong, Succession - WINNER
  • Jason Bateman, Ozark
  • Sterling K. Brown, This Is Us
  • Steve Carell, The Morning Show
  • Brian Cox, Succession
  • Billy Porter, Pose

Outstanding Reality-Competition Program

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Limited Series or Movie

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Limited Series or Movie

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

  • Daniel Levy, Schitt's Creek - WINNER
  • Andre Braugher, Brooklyn Nine-Nine
  • Mahershala Ali, Ramy
  • Kenan Thompson, Saturday Night Live
  • William Jackson Harper, The Good Place
  • Alan Arkin, The Kominsky Method
  • Sterling K. Brown, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
  • Tony Shalhoub, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

  • Annie Murphy, Schitt's Creek - WINNER
  • Alex Borstein, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
  • Betty Gilpin, GLOW
  • Yvonne Orji, Insecure
  • Kate McKinnon, Saturday Night Live
  • Cecily Strong, Saturday Night Live
  • D'Arcy Carden, The Good Place
  • Marin Hinkle, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Limited Series or Movie

  • Yahya Abdul-Mateen II, Watchmen - WINNER
  • Dylan McDermott, Hollywood
  • Jim Parsons, Hollywood
  • Tituss Burgess, Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt: Kimmy vs. The Reverend
  • Jovan Adepo, Watchmen
  • Louis Gossett Jr., Watchmen

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Limited Series or Movie

Outstanding Variety Talk Series

  • Last Week Tonight with John Oliver - WINNER
  • The Daily Show with Trevor Noah
  • Full Frontal with Samantha Bee
  • Jimmy Kimmel Live!
  • The Late Show with Stephen Colbert

Outstanding Variety Sketch Series

Outstanding Host for a Reality or Reality-Competition Program

  • RuPaul, RuPaul's Drag Race - WINNER
  • Amy Poehler and Nick Offerman, Making It
  • Nicole Byer, Nailed It!
  • Bobby Berk, Karamo Brown, Tan France, Antoni Porowski, Jonathan Van Ness, Queer Eye
  • Barbara Corcoran, Mark Cuban, Lori Greiner, Daymond John, Robert Herjavec, Kevin O’Leary, Shark Tank
  • Padma Lakshmi, Tom Colicchio, Top Chef

Outstanding Guest Actor in a Drama Series

  • Ron Cephas Jones, This Is Us - WINNER
  • Andrew Scott, Black Mirror
  • James Cromwell, Succession
  • Giancarlo Esposito, The Mandalorian
  • Martin Short, The Morning Show
  • Jason Bateman, The Outsider

Outstanding Guest Actress in a Drama Series

  • Cherry Jones, Succession - WINNER
  • Cicely Tyson, How to Get Away With Murder
  • Laverne Cox, Orange Is the New Black
  • Harriet Walter, Succession
  • Alexis Bledel, The Handmaid's Tale
  • Phylicia Rashad, This Is Us

Outstanding Guest Actor in a Comedy Series

  • Eddie Murphy, Saturday Night Live - WINNER
  • Fred Willard, Modern Family
  • Dev Patel, Modern Love
  • Brad Pitt, Saturday Night Live
  • Adam Driver, Saturday Night Live
  • Luke Kirby, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel

Outstanding Guest Actress in a Comedy Series

  • Maya Rudolph, Saturday Night Live - WINNER
  • Angela Bassett, A Black Lady Sketch Show
  • Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Saturday Night Live
  • Maya Rudolph, The Good Place
  • Wanda Sykes, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
  • Bette Midler, The Politician
How to watch award-winning DStv shows online

Sign up for DStv Now, a free service for all DStv subscribers. With DStv Now the same channels you watch on your decoder at home are available for you to stream online, or using the DStv Now app on your phone.

Get it on Google Play

Feel every moment with DStv